Hidden Hong Kong: Hongkongers’re unhappy with Tiny Room and Stressful Working life

Standard

IMG_3436Hong Kong- I am excited to express my impressive and criticisms about hidden of Hong Kong from my own experiences and evidences during my 60 days in Hong Kong. Before I came here for study, I was googling many times the scenes of Hong Kong and I was too impressed with the infrastructure of the country. Many skyscrapers made me to feel pleased for a new study life in Hong Kong.

Of course, Hong Kong is one of the diversity and business oriented countries in the world and people can enjoy with multi-culture and multi-language in Hong Kong. But there are some drags behind this scene. They are really hidden of Hong Kong.

First of all, Small room inside the tall building don’t give the satisfied life for Hongkongers such as no space for children to play, no space to dry their clothes, no space for family dinner table, no space for sex! Of course, the front page of The Standard Times daily on October 22 issues caught my eyes with an article titled “Too Small Space for Sex”. That article was based on the research. But this article can describe only small part of Hongkongers’ life here.

Like corn farm, same size, color and design skyscrapers were built together in same place and many small rooms are attached to these buildings. Yes, it is trademark of Hong Kong. We can’t find in other else countries that kind of architecture buildings, which can resist the weather threaten like typhoon even those thin and tall buildings.

As a hidden of Hong Kong, another drag behind the scene of Hong Kong is stressful working life with amazing working hours. Everybody is hurry up always and they have no time to stare any scenes around them. One of my Hongkonger friends said that the working life in Hong Kong was so stressful and employer wants you to work more than their paid amount.

“When I arrived to Hong Kong ten years ago, I thought why people are always in hurry. Something is happening? But my thoughts change now why people are too slow working after I stayed here for ten years because I need more hurry up. I want to finish my works on time all the time,” said Mrs Del from Philippine, working at Global Sources Corporation in Hong Kong.

There are many minority oversea worker groups in Hong Kong such as India, Filipino and Indonesia people working as domestic workers. The stressful and overloaded work demand the domestic workers market in Hong Kong.

Leave a comment